Yoga is a physical, mental, and spiritual discipline, originating in ancient India. Yoga is based on the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.

The eight limbs or the Ashtanga Yoga are:

• Yama: ethics, restraint and ahimsa
• Niyama: cleanliness, ascetism
• Asana: posture
• Pranayama: breath control
• Pratyahara: sense withdrawal
• Dharana: concentration
• Dhyana: meditation
• Samadhi: non dualistic state of consciousness in which the mind becomes still, one pointed or concentrated while the person remains conscious while becoming one with the object of their meditation

Hatha Yoga

Hatha yoga, also called hatha vidya is a system of yoga introduced by Yogi Swatmarama, a Hindu sage of 15th century India, and compiler of the Hatha Yoga Pradipika.

“The word “hatha” may esoterically be said to derive from the Sanskrit terms “ha” meaning “sun” and “tha” meaning “moon”. Hatha Yoga is known as the branch of Yoga that unites pairs of opposites referring to the positive (sun) and negative (moon) currents in the system.

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan, is an ancient and one of the most powerful styles of yoga. It supports us to become physically, emotionally and mentally resilient by developing a strong nervous system, a healthy glandular and a resilient immune system so that we embrace a life a life full of confidence.

Kundalini Yoga is for everyone and is one of the most transformative yoga practices today. It is based on a set of exercises that is designed specifically to target certain areas of your body in order to strengthen them and help them release toxins.
Each lot of exercises are referred to as a ‘set’ or a ‘kriya”.

First we tune in using a centering technique to call upon our inner guidance. Then we warm up and stretch out our bodies using movement and strong breathing. Each Kundalini yoga class is unique, but each will contain a yoga ‘set’ of postures and exercises that work on specific areas of the body, mind, and spirit.

The word ‘kundalini’ refers to our potential. The practice of kundalini yoga is both a technology and a science for all aspects of human living based on the realisation that our true strength comes from within, Kundalini Yoga deepens and expands our awareness on all levels so that we may awaken our full potential and grace.

A class leaves you with an overwhelming sense that you have nurtured your whole being and experienced something special. You do not need to be in perfect physical condition or share any particular belief system.